Posted by: francesthomas | March 18, 2011

Holy Grail or Poisoned Chalice? Mark Robson

 

How many times have I got excited over someone in the film industry being “interested” in “possibly” adapting my books into films? The thought is an intoxicating one. Imagine seeing your work turned into a massive budget blockbuster movie – meeting the stars, visiting the film set, Premiere Night. It all sounds amazing. There has been a particularly excited atmosphere in my household recently, as there seems to have been a bigger flurry of interest than ever before from both the US and the UK film people in looking at my work, but I keep thinking – I’ve been here before. All the excitement… then nothing. It’s a wonderful dream, but should I even be thinking about it?

There are so many distractions to writing without thoughts of fame and fortune from a different media, yet it’s very hard not to daydream when you know that someone with the power to change your life and career path is currently reading your work. When I’m not dashing from school to school doing events, or standing in a bookshop chatting to customers, I often find myself staring at my computer screen with this picture floating in my head.

I keep telling myself, “Someone writes the stories for the big blockbuster films. Why shouldn’t it be me?” Then I think, “But what if they make the film and it’s a stinker? Will people blame me for that?” The biggest problem I see from all this is that it’s easy to spend so much time dreaming that I lose the focus for my actual job of writing good stories. So for now, I think I’ll keep calm and let everyone else get excited… right after I google this latest Film Producer I’m told is interested!

posted by Frances Thomas  for Mark Robson


Responses

  1. ooh, good luck!
    Do let us know any progress.

  2. I know this too well. Bafta and Oscar night are especially hard because, if you’re going to dream, might as well dream big!

    Good luck!

  3. Know how you feel: I was approached some years ago but all fell through when I refused to sign away all rights to 6 books for a period of 6 years… With no guarantees. Anyway, I’m always terrified that if it happens, my characters will be metamorphosed into the director’s daughter and nothing like I imagine them, and the dialogue will be crap… and, as you say, I’ll get blamed. Maybe I’m just a control freak, but hey, they’re my characters from my head, and my books, so there!


Leave a Reply

Categories

